In-Studio Perspectives

Inspiration comes from seeing things and remembering them…not necessarily a precise memory of exacting details, but retaining the idea or spirit of a thing. Filing it away and rolling it around in your head until something emerges that captures the flavor without duplicating it. Here is a fascinator I recently made. I wanted to incorporate a stash of sheer vintage petals in an unusual way, so I swirled them like a child’s windmill. When it came time to add the feathers, they naturally fell into the spaces made by the swirls. My vintage hat blog on March 21 featured a hat with swirled feathers. And I recently saw some pieces by Christopher Kane, a designer who uses layers of sheer fabric to create a look that almost appears like pages in a book. Both things inspired me to create this piece.

Swirled petal fascinator by Paula Singleton

Swirled petal fascinator by Paula Singleton

Christoper Kane design 2014 from London Fashion week

Christoper Kane design 2014 from London Fashion week

Image from Google Search: Christopher Kane

3 thoughts on “In-Studio Perspectives

  1. That fascinator is absolutely gorgeous, Paula. Even though I own many of your hats and have been to your studio many times, your creativity never ceases to amaze me. Now whenever I heard that song about “the windmills of your mind” that fascinator will be in my mind!

Leave a Reply

