In-Studio Perspectives

Creating one-of-a-kind hats means so many things to me…it is rewarding, joyful, satisfying. I often make a hat and then sell it before I have a chance to even take a photo of it. When hats go to a happy customer quickly I am grateful; although I wish I had been able to spend more time with the hat. I most definitely bond with the things I create. I suppose that’s because a part of me is in each and every one of them.

I recently created this hat for a contest. It’s for the Facebook group, Mad Hatters Society. It’s an interesting group with very knowledgeable collectors, milliners, and “everyday” people who simply love hats. Click on the link to join this open group.

Part of the challenge was to photograph the hat being worn in public. I wanted “my girl” to be going places. It’s so funny to me that “Always Be Careful” was printed on the steps of the train car at our location, since the wearer of this hat doesn’t seem to be the cautious type. I am very grateful to Marianne Barta, who modeled my hat and is a talented photographer herself…she owns Black Box Photography. Photography for this session is by Levi Welling. So happy to have the hat and the moment preserved in such lovely photos.

red_hat-002

red_hat-008

red_hat-009

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

